Special Education

Research is the process of discovery, and in this sense it is a creative act. It is guided by questions, shaped by evidence, and concludes with the sharing of one’s findings.

Core Resources

  • Education Source
    Large comprehensive source for full-text and bibliographic material covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.

  • Educators Reference Complete
    A selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.

  • ERIC (EBSCOhost version)
    ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to full text, references, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals the majority of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from a variety of sources, including scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses. Many of these ERIC documents provide access to full text as well.

  • LEXIS-NEXIS Academic
    Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.

  • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
    Descriptions and critical reviews of commercially available English language tests, including a comprehensive bibliography of all known commercially available tests that are currently in print.

Supplemental Resources

  • Academic OneFile
    Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in many subjects.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic multi-disciplinary database; full text articles in all fields.

  • Communication Source
    Access to full text, abstracting and indexing to core journals covering research in mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology.

  • Credo Reference
    An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia

  • Ebook Central (Proquest)
    A collection of E-Books. You can either search or browse by subject.
    Note: Formerly known as eBrary E-Books

  • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
    This is a multi-disciplinary collection which allows you to search and view the full text of its eBooks. Read an eBook instantly with your web based reader or download eBooks to your portable device.

  • Expanded Academic ASAP
    A multidisciplinary database featuring scholarly articles, trade and popular news features.

  • Films on Demand
    Access to over 6,000 streaming videos, including documentaries relevant for multiple disciplines.

  • JSTOR
    An advanced, multidisciplinary database featuring secondary resources in history, scholarly articles and other resources spanning the humanities and sciences.

  • MathSciNet
    An electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Continuing in the tradition of the paper publication, Mathematical Reviews (MR), which was first published in 1940, expert reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of the current published literature; over 40,000 reviews are added to the database each year. Extending the MR tradition, MathSciNet contains over 2 million items and over 1 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences.

  • Professional Development Collection
    Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

  • ProQuest Education Database
    Coverage includes primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics; access to over 745 top educational publications, including nearly 600 of the titles in full text.

  • ProQuest Psychology Journals
    Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.

  • ProQuest Social Science Database
    Search full-text scientific journals covering the social sciences. Provides information on hundreds of topics, including: Addiction studies, Urban studies, Family studies, International relations.

  • ProQuest Sociology
    Sociology Articles

  • PsycARTICLES
    Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.

  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    Full text coverage on topics: emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

  • PsycINFO
    Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

  • Science In Context
    Provides topic overviews, biographies, full-text articles, experiments and images and video related to earth and life science, technology, mathematics and the history of science. Also provides curriculum support for high school teachers by aligning content with state and national standards.

  • Science Online
    Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments with a library of printable teacher-handout material. Aimed at the K-12 student.

  • SocIndex With Full Text
    Comprehensive sociology research database; contains full text for books and monographs, journals and conference papers.

  • SPORTDiscus With Full Text
    Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals. Also useful for Physical Education. (Note: 4 simultaneous users)

  • Teacher Reference Center
    Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. The Database provides some full-text articles. The TRC has minimal overlap with either the Professional Development Collection or Academic Search Premier.

  • U.S. History In Context
    Provides comprehensive topic overviews and integrates reference, journals, newspapers, primary source documents, images and video to provide context to events and topics in U.S. history.

  • World History In Context
    Provides multicultural and international content with access to full-text periodicals, reference works and primary sources related to world history from antiquity to the present.