- A-Z Maps Online
The world’s largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals
- Academic OneFile
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in many subjects.
- Academic Search Ultimate
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
- Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection
Scholarly journals for Accounting.
- ACM Digital Library
A vast collection of citations and full text from the Association for Computing Machinery. Includes journals, newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
Provides access to literature on gerontology and aging in the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics and public policy.
- America: History & Life
Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals: Series 1, 1691-1820
More than 500 Colonial America and American magazines and journals from 1691 through 1820 covering a broad base of topics and geographical areas. Pulled from the American Antiquarian Society collection, almost every 17th and 18th-century American title is represented in addition to the majority of works published before 1821.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals: Series 2, 1821-1837
Colonial America and American magazines and journals from 1821 through 1837.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals: Series 3, 1838-1852
Series 3 presents over 1,700 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals: Series 4, 1853-1865
Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals: Series 5, 1866-1912
Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Primary source material containing 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs.
- Ancestry Library Edition
This genealogy database covers the United States and the United Kingdom. It includes census, vital, church, court, and immigration records.
- Applied Science & Technology Source
Abstracting, indexing and some full text for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources in computer science. Subject areas include engineering disciplines, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social & professional context.
- Art Museum Image Gallery
Over 160,000 high quality art images and related multimedia gathered from the collections of distinguished art museums around the world. Includes curatorial text, provenance data, and multiple views for many works.
- Avery Index To Architectural Periodicals
Comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design.
- Biography In Context
Provides biographical information on more than 500,000 individuals across disciplines and subject areas. Authoritative entries also include interactive video and audio resources and links to vetted web sites for additional information. Content can be searched by name, occupation, nationality and date and even to determine the connections between individuals.
- Biological Abstracts/BIOSIS
A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database provides users with easy access to the latest information in virtually every life science discipline. Fitchburg State Coverage is 1955 to the present and most of the records include informative abstracts written by the author. It is produced by Thomson Scientific.
- BioMed Central
Contains over 220 relevant full text journals in Biology, Medicine and Technology.
- Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
Full text journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles from 100+ journals in biology. Searching is available by individual journal, by article title, by author, and by keyword.
- Black Thought and Culture
Contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.
- Books and Authors
- Boston Globe
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Primary source materials including the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters.
- Business Collection
Access business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and images.
- Business Insights: Essentials
Combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center. Offers dynamic, accurate, and up-to-date topical business information and company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies.
- Business Market Research Collection
Market Research and data
- Business Source Premier
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business research.
- Cambridge University Press: Open Access
Open access journals, articles and more from Cambridge University Press. To limit your results to items with free access, you can click on the "Only show content I have access to link" under the search box before you begin or in the left-hand column after you have a list of results.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Canadian Business and Consumer Affairs
- Canadian Newsstand Complete
Chemistry e-book collection
- CINAHL Complete
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1300 journals indexed in CINAHL.
- Cochrane Collection Plus
Collection of health care data for providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating in medical professions.
- Columbia International Affairs Online
Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
- Communication Source
Access to full text, abstracting and indexing to core journals covering research in mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology.
- CQ Researcher
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- CQ Weekly
Weekly up-to-date nonpartisan reports and analysis on activities of the United States Congress.
- Credo Reference
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Access to full text, abstracting and indexing of over 270 core journals covering research areas in international criminal justice and criminology such as criminal law, corrections, policing & investigation and forensic science.
- Daily Life Through History
A searchable website that spotlights the day-to-day lives of average people, past and present. A virtual library of thousands of sources: award-winning reference works, primary documents, illustrations, maps. This is not a journal database but does provide full-text essays. Users can browse by subject, time period, region, or title. Also available is a Teacher Resources section featuring lesson plans and curriculum correlations.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in all subjects and languages.
- Ebook Central (Proquest)
A collection of E-Books. You can either search or browse by subject.
Note: Formerly known as eBrary E-Books
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
This is a multi-disciplinary collection which allows you to search and view the full text of its eBooks. Read an eBook instantly with your web based reader or download eBooks to your portable device.
- EBSCOhost Package
Links to all of the library's database subscriptions provided by EBSCOhost.
The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
- Education Source
Large comprehensive source for full-text and bibliographic material covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
- Educators Reference Complete
A selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica
The online edition of the oldest English-language general encyclopaedia.
- Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost version)
ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to full text, references, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals the majority of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from a variety of sources, including scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses. Many of these ERIC documents provide access to full text as well.
- ERIC (Free web version)
The Education Resources Information Center website is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education with some full text. For access to more of the full text content use the ERIC (EBSCOhost version).
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 To 1750
This database provides citations for European printed works written about the Americas before 1750 and provides researchers with the libraries that hold the original documents.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
A multidisciplinary database featuring scholarly articles, trade and popular news features.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Films on Demand (licensed titles only)
Legal Web site, providing the most comprehensive set of legal resources on the Internet for legal professionals, corporate counsel, law students, businesses, and consumers.
- Fine Arts and Music Collection
Resources for drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Forensic science and criminal justice references. Includes techniques in forensic analysis and case studies.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Links to all of the library's database subscriptions provided by Gale/Infotrac.
- General OneFile
News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.
- General Reference Center Gold
Reference articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
A comprehensive geoscience resource.
- Global Issues In Context
Provides access to sources for analysis of current events, issues of international importance, and detailed information about nations. Each entry pulls together source material to analyze social, political, military, economic, health and cultural issues and includes access to newspapers and periodicals, web sites, and multimedia features.
- Google Books
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you; learn where to buy or borrow them.
- Google Scholar
A search engine for scholarly literature. Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For info on how to use Google Scholar to find articles available at Fitchburg State see http://www.fitchburgstate.edu/academics/library/research-help/using-google-scholar-to-find-articles-from-the-library/
- GPO Access/FedSys
U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as full text for more than 4,700 records.
- Health And Wellness Resource Center
A great resource to begin your research into health issues, this database provides access to full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works and multimedia tools to provide medical information. Now includes Alternative Health.
- Health Reference Center Academic
Full text of nursing and allied health journals.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
Authoritative information on health-related questions
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- Historical Abstracts
Bibliographic database for historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
- Hoover's Company Profiles
Information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.
- InfoTrac Newsstand
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- International Financial Statistics
The standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance from the International Monetary Fund (IMF). (Note: Microsoft Silverlight is required to view the data. )
- Issues And Controversies
Up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.
- Jazz Music Library
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
An advanced, multidisciplinary database featuring secondary resources in history, scholarly articles and other resources spanning the humanities and sciences.
Access to streaming films and documentaries across a wide range of disciplines and subject areas.
An Open Access collection of digitized books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
- LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni)
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
- Literature Criticism Online
largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand.
- Literature Resource Center
Current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Contains online Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
Primary sources from from the American Antiquarian Society 1750-1950
- MAS Ultra -School Edition
Comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for more than 700 popular, high school magazines.
- Massachusetts Community Health Information Profile
Community-level data to assess health needs, monitor health status indicators, and evaluate health programs.
- MasterFILE Premier
Full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines.
An electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Continuing in the tradition of the paper publication, Mathematical Reviews (MR), which was first published in 1940, expert reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of the current published literature; over 40,000 reviews are added to the database each year. Extending the MR tradition, MathSciNet contains over 2 million items and over 1 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences.
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
- Medlineplus Health Information
Authoritative information from National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Descriptions and critical reviews of commercially available English language tests, including a comprehensive bibliography of all known commercially available tests that are currently in print.
- Military & Government Collection
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
- MLA International Bibliography
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's containing over 2.3 million citations (some with full text) from more than 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Primarily oriented toward the Humanities.
- Music & Performing Arts
Combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.
- Music Online: Contemporary World Music
Streaming World Music
- NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
Website of the U.S. Department of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service, an information clearinghouse for people around the U.S. and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control.
- New York Times
2004-Present. Search the New York Times from 1851- 2004 using Historical New York Times.
- News & Periodical Resources on the Web
From the Library of Congress, here is a useful directory of newspapers available online.
- Newspaper Source
Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.
- Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™, the new interface for Lexis/Nexis, features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- NIAA Alcohol
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) portal to support researchers and practitioners searching for information related to alcohol research.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
Primary sources material including 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information on American and Canadian immigrants between 1800 and 1950.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Primary sources material including immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
- Nursing & Allied Health Collection
- Nursing Resource Center
Find articles, drug, and disease information.
- Open Science Directory
Directory of journal listings of many open access journals, including contents from DOAJ, PubMed, HighWire, and others. Journals are full text, but not searchable.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Addressing current event topics, this database provides topic overviews, pro/con essays, primary source documents, overviews of court cases, statistics, access to newspaper and magazine articles, reference works, podcasts and multimedia tools to help you research social issues.
- Oral History Online
Provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of primary source Oral History in English from around the world.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive record of the English language.
- Oxford Music Online
Music Encyclopedia, covering musicians, instruments, history and more.
- Philosopher's Index
A comprehensive bibliography of scholarly research in philosophy.
- Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
- ProQuest Asian Business & Reference
Business and financial news from the eastern hemisphere.
- ProQuest Biological Science Collection
Full text access to many biology journals.
- ProQuest Biology Database
Access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes over 285 titles, with more than 250 available in full text.
- ProQuest Career & Technical Education
- ProQuest Central
A compilation of all Proquest databases for searching across disciplines.
- ProQuest Computing
Search top computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.
- ProQuest Criminal Justice
A comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
- ProQuest Education Database
Coverage includes primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics; access to over 745 top educational publications, including nearly 600 of the titles in full text.
- ProQuest European Business
European business and financial information.
- ProQuest Family Health
Articles from popular health magazines and journals
- ProQuest Health & Medical Complete
Journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration.
- ProQuest Health Management
Articles pertaining to the business side of hospitals and healthcare. Find non-clinical information covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2012)
Search the New York Times from 1851- 2012. Articles will be in PDF format. Current full-text content of the New York Times is found in several other databases: LexisNexis, Proquest Newspapers, and Infotrac.
- ProQuest Military Database
Government and military articles
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Includes reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
- ProQuest Political Science
Political science and international relations journals
- ProQuest Psychology Journals
Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.
- ProQuest Religion
Articles on world religions and theology
- ProQuest Research Library
Cross-discipline research articles
- ProQuest Science Database
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. Researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.
- ProQuest Social Science Database
Search full-text scientific journals covering the social sciences. Provides information on hundreds of topics, including: Addiction studies, Urban studies, Family studies, International relations.
- ProQuest Sociology
Sociology Articles in Worldshare knowledge base
- ProQuest Telecommunications
Articles on Telecommunication technologies
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full text coverage on topics: emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
The National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature.
- Regional Business News
Full text coverage for regional business publications.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection
An easy-to-use database of scholarly articles on topics in philosophy and theology.
- Science & Technology Collection
Contains full text for hundreds of leading scholarly journals covering a wide-array of scientific and technological subject areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 publications.
- Science In Context
Provides topic overviews, biographies, full-text articles, experiments and images and video related to earth and life science, technology, mathematics and the history of science. Also provides curriculum support for high school teachers by aligning content with state and national standards.
- Science Online
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments with a library of printable teacher-handout material. Aimed at the K-12 student.
- Serials Directory
Access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials.
- Small Business Resource Center
Small Business Resource Center is a comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. Experience an easy-to-browse interface mapped to four key stages—plan, fund, start, and manage—to fit your research needs at any point in your business's development.
- Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries
Primary source accounts of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures.
- SocIndex With Full Text
Comprehensive sociology research database; contains full text for books and monographs, journals and conference papers.
- SPORTDiscus With Full Text
Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals. Also useful for Physical Education. (Note: 4 simultaneous users)
- SpringerLink Package
A collection of peer-reviewed science and social science journals. Note: we do not subscribe to every title in this database, however it can be useful for browsing. If you come across an article which requires payment, request it through ILLiad and we will try to get it for you from another library.
Covers range of fully open access full text journals, which cover all disciplines within science, technology, and medicine .
- Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. The Database provides some full-text articles. The TRC has minimal overlap with either the Professional Development Collection or Academic Search Premier.
- U.S. History In Context
Provides comprehensive topic overviews and integrates reference, journals, newspapers, primary source documents, images and video to provide context to events and topics in U.S. history.
- United States Law Week
National coverage of significant cases and key legislative and regulatory developments across all areas of the law, summaries of selected federal court, state court and administrative cases. Access Supreme Court Today via link on left side of screen.
- US Newsstream
Full-text coverage of major national newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and NY Times, and many others.
- Wall Street Journal
Available through ProQuest Newsstand
- World History In Context
Provides multicultural and international content with access to full-text periodicals, reference works and primary sources related to world history from antiquity to the present.
- WorldCat (First Search)
The OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Use this web-based version of the OCLC database to look up books, articles and more in libraries worldwide and request them easily via ILLiad.