- America: History & Life
Complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals: Series 1, 1691-1820
More than 500 Colonial America and American magazines and journals from 1691 through 1820 covering a broad base of topics and geographical areas. Pulled from the American Antiquarian Society collection, almost every 17th and 18th-century American title is represented in addition to the majority of works published before 1821.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals: Series 2, 1821-1837
Colonial America and American magazines and journals from 1821 through 1837.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals: Series 3, 1838-1852
Series 3 presents over 1,700 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals: Series 4, 1853-1865
Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals: Series 5, 1866-1912
Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
- Ancestry Library Edition
This genealogy database covers the United States and the United Kingdom. It includes census, vital, church, court, and immigration records.
- HeinOnline Academic
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
- Historical Abstracts
Bibliographic database for historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences, JSTOR Life Sciences, and JSTOR eBooks
An advanced, multidisciplinary database featuring secondary resources in history, scholarly articles, over 57,000 eBooks and other resources spanning the humanities and sciences.
- Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
Primary sources from from the American Antiquarian Society 1750-1950
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
Primary sources material including 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information on American and Canadian immigrants between 1800 and 1950.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Primary sources material including immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
- Project Muse Open Access Books
Features of Open Access books and journals on MUSE:
Search and browse using the same tools for all MUSE content
Appear in search results with content already owned by libraries
Require no login or registration for access
DRM-free, with unlimited downloading and printing
- Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries
Primary source accounts of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures.
- A-Z Maps Online
The world’s largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in many subjects.
- Academic OneFile Select (Gale)
A multidisciplinary database featuring scholarly articles, trade and popular news features.
- Academic Search Ultimate
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Primary source material containing 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Primary source materials including the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters.
- Credo Reference
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia
- Daily Life Through History
A searchable website that spotlights the day-to-day lives of average people, past and present. A virtual library of thousands of sources: award-winning reference works, primary documents, illustrations, maps. This is not a journal database but does provide full-text essays. Users can browse by subject, time period, region, or title. Also available is a Teacher Resources section featuring lesson plans and curriculum correlations.
- Ebook Central (Proquest)
A collection of E-Books. You can either search or browse by subject.
Note: Formerly known as eBrary E-Books. To download a full book you must create a free account.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
This is a multi-disciplinary collection which allows you to search and view the full text of its eBooks. Read an eBook instantly with your web based reader or download eBooks to your portable device.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 To 1750
This database provides citations for European printed works written about the Americas before 1750 and provides researchers with the libraries that hold the original documents.
Access to streaming films and documentaries across a wide range of disciplines and subject areas.
- Oral History Online
Provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of primary source Oral History in English from around the world.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2012)
Search the New York Times from 1851- 2012. Articles will be in PDF format. Current full-text content of the New York Times is found in several other databases: LexisNexis, Proquest Newspapers, and Infotrac.
- ProQuest Research Library
Cross-discipline research articles
- U.S. History In Context
Provides comprehensive topic overviews and integrates reference, journals, newspapers, primary source documents, images and video to provide context to events and topics in U.S. history.
- World History In Context
Provides multicultural and international content with access to full-text periodicals, reference works and primary sources related to world history from antiquity to the present.