- Academic OneFile Select (Gale)
A multidisciplinary database featuring scholarly articles, trade and popular news features.
- Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
Full text journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.
- Book Review Index (Gale Literature)
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews that includes more than five million review citations from thousands of publications, with linking to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.
- Books and Authors (Gale)
Gale Books and Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.
- Career Transitions
Career Transitions provides guidance and essential activities to both current job seekers and those investigating new career options. Key features include resume and cover letter creation support, interactive interview practice, and tools to match previous work or military experience to potential career paths.
- Credo Information Literacy - Core
Uses innovative technology and proven pedagogy to build essential information literacy and critical-thinking skills that will help students thrive in their academic careers and beyond. Furthermore, the Credo Insights analytics tool allows you to measure student outcomes and demonstrate the value of foundational skills instruction at your institution.
- Credo Information Literacy Health Science
Teaching materials that can be used in health science courses, one-shot sessions, and at the point of need. The health sciences rank among higher education’s most in-demand fields, and this instruction platform will help ensure these students acquire the foundational skills necessary for academic and career success. Furthermore, the Credo Insights analytics tool allows you to measure student outcomes and demonstrate the value of library instruction at your institution.
- Credo Reference
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia
- Encyclopaedia Britannica
The online edition of the oldest English-language general encyclopaedia.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Links to all of the library's database subscriptions provided by Gale/Infotrac.
- General OneFile (Gale)
News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.
- Global Issues In Context
Provides access to sources for analysis of current events, issues of international importance, and detailed information about nations. Each entry pulls together source material to analyze social, political, military, economic, health and cultural issues and includes access to newspapers and periodicals, web sites, and multimedia features.
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Full text of nursing and allied health journals.
- Health And Wellness Resource Center
A great resource to begin your research into health issues, this database provides access to full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works and multimedia tools to provide medical information. Now includes Alternative Health.
- HeritageQuest Online
HeritageQuest Online provides access to more than 4.4 billion historical and genealogical records. This essential collection of sources has coverage dating back to the 1700s and can help people both find their ancestors and discover a place's past.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
- Literature Criticism Online: Children's Literature Review
Literature Criticism Online: Children's Literature Review covers more than 750 authors and includes numerous entries focusing on individual titles and topics in children’s and young adult literature, including picture books, folklore and graphic novels.
- Literature Resource Center
Current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Contains online Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- MasterFILE Premier
Full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines.
- MLA International Bibliography
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's containing over 2.3 million citations (some with full text) from more than 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Primarily oriented toward the Humanities.
- Nursing Resource Center
Designed for nursing students, the Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts.
- ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database
ProQuest just announced the launch of a Coronavirus Research Database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The new cross-disciplinary resource enables researchers to search and discover full-text articles, dissertations and other content from key publishers in one place.
- ProQuest Research Companion
Research Companion helps students do more effective scholarly research and supports educators as they teach the core information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.
- Serials Directory
Access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials.
- Testing & Education Reference Center
Testing & Education Reference Center is a valuable online tool used by library patrons of all ages for standardized test preparation, researching undergraduate and graduate programs, finding tuition assistance, and exploring careers. Community members can even pursue new career paths with test prep assistance for career certification exams and gain advice on resumes, cover letters, interviewing, and networking.
After clicking on a test or tutorial, you will be prompted to create your own account. Creating an account allows you to start a test, save your work to finish later, and examine your results. It also allows you to save and retrieve your scholarships, preferred schools and resumes.
- WorldCat (First Search)
The OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Use this web-based version of the OCLC database to look up books, articles and more in libraries worldwide and request them easily via ILLiad.
- A-Z Maps Online
The world’s largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in many subjects.
- Biography In Context
Provides biographical information on more than 500,000 individuals across disciplines and subject areas. Authoritative entries also include interactive video and audio resources and links to vetted web sites for additional information. Content can be searched by name, occupation, nationality and date and even to determine the connections between individuals.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs
Canadian Business and Consumer Affairs
- Cochrane Collection Plus
Collection of health care data for providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating in medical professions.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in all subjects and languages.
- Ebook Central (Proquest)
A collection of E-Books. You can either search or browse by subject.
Note: Formerly known as eBrary E-Books. To download a full book you must create a free account.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
This is a multi-disciplinary collection which allows you to search and view the full text of its eBooks. Read an eBook instantly with your web based reader or download eBooks to your portable device.
- Films on Demand:Master Academic Package
Access to streaming videos, including documentaries relevant for multiple disciplines.
- Google Books
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you; learn where to buy or borrow them.
- Google Scholar
A search engine for scholarly literature. Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For info on how to use Google Scholar to find articles available at Fitchburg State see https://fitchburgstate.libguides.com/c.php?g=556392&p=3825507
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences, JSTOR Life Sciences, and JSTOR eBooks
An advanced, multidisciplinary database featuring secondary resources in history, scholarly articles, over 57,000 eBooks and other resources spanning the humanities and sciences.